Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
You are in :


Laura Anne Jones confirmed as Member of the Senedd for South Wales East


​Laura Anne Jones has been confirmed as the Member of the Senedd for South Wales East following the death of Mohammad Asghar last month.

The Llywydd of the Senedd, Elin Jones MS, has been informed by the Regional Returning Officer for the South Wales East Region.

Arrangements are being made for Ms Jones to take her oath.

Laura Anne Jones succeeds Mohammad Asghar as the next person on the Welsh Conservative regional list for the National Assembly election in 2016, before the institution’s name changed.

It is the second time Ms Jones has represented South Wales East, having been elected as an Assembly Member between 2003 and 2007 and serving as the Welsh Conservatives’ spokesperson on sport.

Partners & Help