

Minutes of the Senedd Branch Annual General Meeting 16 September 2021

Welcome

The Branch President (Llywydd) welcomed those present and opened the AGM. As this was the first meeting of the Sixth Senedd, the Llywydd encouraged Members, and those newly elected to the Senedd in particular, to take advantage of the many opportunities which our membership of the CPA presented, with many of these aimed at new parliamentarians.

The Llywydd invited the Branch Secretary and Senedd Chief Executive and Clerk, Manon Antoniazzi, to continue the meeting.

1. Minutes of Last AGM Meeting held on 25 March 2021

The minutes were accepted as a correct record.

2. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

3. Any Urgent Business

There was no urgent business

4. Elections:

Branch Executive Committee

Rhun ap Iorwerth MS and **Delyth Jewell MS** were nominated by the Plaid Cymru Group

Natasha Asghar MS and **Sam Rowlands MS** were nominated by the Welsh Conservatives Group, and

Rhianon Passmore MS and **Alun Davies MS** were nominated by the Welsh Labour Group.

Secretariat

Chief Executive and Clerk Manon Antoniazzi was elected to serve as Secretary to the Branch with Al Davies to continue to oversee the day to day running of the Branch and its meetings as the Acting Branch Secretary.

Chair

Rhun ap Iorwerth MS was elected to serve as Chair of the Branch for the Sixth Senedd term.

5. <u>Closing</u>

Rhun ap Iorwerth MS thanked Members and noted how pleased he was of the opportunity to Chair the Senedd Branch for the Sixth Senedd. He noted that this would be an important term for our Branch, during which the Senedd would have a seat on the Association's International Executive Committee for the first time in over a decade.

The Chair stated that this new term would bring into force the new Branch Constitution, ratified at the end of the last Senedd, and he was determined to ensure that opportunities would be opened to as many Members as possible.

The first Branch Executive meeting would be arranged to take place in October. This would now be an enhanced committee and one which the Chair was delighted to note would be a gender balanced membership. The Chair also stated that he was pleased that the Committee would include two newly elected Members of the Senedd. He noted how appropriate it was that Natasha Asghar MS had been selected to represent her group and that he knew how proud her father, the late Mohammad Asghar, would have been of this.

The Chair closed the meeting by noting that he looked forward to being part of a cross party delegation of Members which would represent the Senedd at the following week's Regional CPA Conference in Belfast which would focus on the topical these of "Post Pandemic Parliaments".

6. Attendance:

Senedd Branch Members

- 1 Llywydd, Elin Jones MS (Branch President)
- 2. DPO David Rees MS (Branch Vice-President)
- 3. Rhun ap Iorwerth MS (Branch Chair)
- 4. Mike Hedges MS
- 5. Peredur Owen Griffiths MS
- 5. Carolyn Thomas MS
- 6. Delyth Jewell MS
- 7. Sam Rowlands MS
- 8. Llyr Guffydd MS
- 10. Mark Isherwood MS
- 12. Alun Davies MS
- 13. James Evans MS
- 13. Natasha Asghar MS
- 14. Adam Price MS
- 15. Cefin Campbell MS
- 16. Russell George MS
- 17. Joyce Watson MS
- 18. Sioned Williams MS

Note: The following Members were unable to access the meeting due to technical difficulties: *Rhianon Passmore MS and Altaf Hussein MS*

Branch Secretariat:

Manon Antoniazzi, Branch Secretary, Chief Executive & Clerk of the Senedd Al Davies, Acting Branch Secretary, (International Relations Team), Llywydd's Private Office

Observing:

Siwan Davies, Director of Senedd Business Gwion Evans, Llywydd's Private Office Enfys Roberts, Llywydd's Private Office Leia Jones, Llywydd's Private Office

CPA Wales Branch Secretariat
September 2021