BUSINESS PAPERS - PART 2 - SECTION H

RECORD OF VOTES & PROCEEDINGS FOR WEDNESDAY 23rd JUNE 1999

The session commenced at 2pm

Presiding Officer Statement:

The Presiding Officer made a statement on the voting system.

2.03pm

Obituary Tribute: The First Secretary paid tribute to Lt Gareth Evans who was killed in Kosovo yesterday and Sgt Balaram Rai the Gurkha who also died.

2.08pm

Election of additional Members to Subject Committees

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 57(8) of the Government of Wales Act 1998, elects the following additional Member to its Agriculture and Rural Development Subject Committee: **Peter Rogers (Conservative)**

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 57(8) of the Government of Wales Act 1998, elects the following additional Member to its Health and Social Services Subject Committee: **Nick Bourne (Conservative)**

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 57(8) of the Government of Wales Act 1998, elects the following additional Member to its under age 16 Education Subject Committee: **Jonathan Morgan (Conservative)**

The Business Secretary proposed the motions.

Motions carried

Election of Members to the Audit Committee

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 60(3) and (5) of the Government of Wales Act 1998, elects the following Members to its Audit Committee:

Christine Chapman (Labour); Brian Gibbons (Labour); Alun Pugh (Labour);

Alison Halford (Labour); Dafydd Wigley (Plaid Cymru); Geraint Davies (Plaid Cymru); Alun Cairns (Conservative); Peter Black (Liberal Democrat);

and elects Janet Davies (Plaid Cymru) to be the chair of the Committee.

Motion proposed by the Business Secretary

Motion carried

Election of Members to the Legislation Committee

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 59(2) and (4) of the Government of Wales Act 1998, elects the following Members to its Legislation Committee:

Huw Lewis (Labour); Carwyn Jones (Labour); Lynne Neagle (Labour);

John Marek (Labour); Jocelyn Davies (Plaid Cymru); Dai Lloyd (Plaid Cymru);

Owen Jon Thomas (Plaid Cymru); Nick Bourne (Conservative);

and elects Mike German (Liberal Democrat) to be the chair of the Committee.

Motion proposed by the Business Secretary

Motion carried

Point of Order: Elin Jones stated that Gareth Jones should be the Member not Geraint Davies. It was agreed that the motion would stand and be amended at the next Plenary.

Point of Order: Jenny Randerson asked whether any matter had been brought to his attention which would be put before the Committee on Standards; and what his view was on any

attempt to remove a Member from office, without the matter going to the Committee on Standards.

The Presiding Officer promised a response in due course.

Election of Members to the Committee on Standards of Conduct

To propose that the Assembly, in accordance with standing order 16.2

elects the following Members to its Committee on Standards of Conduct:

Val Feld (Labour); John Griffiths (Labour); Karen Sinclair (Labour); Richard Edwards (Labour); Janet Davies (Plaid Cymru); Brian Hancock (Plaid Cymru);

Geraint Davies (Plaid Cymru); Christine Humphreys (Liberal Democrat);

and elects Nick Bourne (Conservative) to be the chair of the Committee.

Motion proposed by the Business Secretary

Motion carried

Election of Members to the Committee on European Affairs

To propose that the Assembly, in accordance with standing order 15.4

elects the following Members to its Committee on European Affairs:

Rhodri Morgan (Labour); Val Feld (Labour); Christine Gwyther (Labour); Alun Pugh (Labour); Phil Williams (Plaid Cymru); Elin Jones (Plaid Cymru); Rhodri Glyn Thomas (Plaid Cymru); Rod Richards (Conservative); William Graham (Conservative); Mick Bates (Liberal Democrat);

and elects Alun Michael (Labour) to be the chair of the Committee.

Motion proposed by the Business Secretary

Motion carried

Election of Members to the Committee on Equality of Opportunity

To propose that the Assembly, in accordance with standing order 14.3

elects the following Members to its Committee on Equality of Opportunity:

Edwina Hart (Labour); Christine Chapman (Labour); Carwyn Jones (Labour);

Richard Edwards (Labour); Helen Mary Jones (Plaid Cymru); Jocelyn Davies (Plaid Cymru); Janet Ryder (Plaid Cymru); Glyn Davies (Conservative); David Melding (Conservative); Kirsty Williams (Liberal Democrat);

and elects Jane Hutt (Labour) to be the chair of the Committee.

Motion proposed by the Business Secretary

Motion carried

Election of Members to the Regional Committees

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 61(5)(b) of the Government of Wales Act 1998 elects the following Assembly electoral region Members: Rod Richards; Peter Rogers; Christine Humphreys; Janet Ryder

to the North Wales Regional Committee.

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 61(5)(b) of the Government of Wales Act 1998 elects the following Assembly electoral region Members: Alun Michael; Nick Bourne; Glyn Davies; Cynog Dafis

to the Mid Wales Regional Committee.

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 61(5)(b) of the Government of Wales Act 1998 elects the following Assembly electoral region Members: Alun Michael; Nick Bourne; Glyn Davies; Cynog Dafis; Alun Cairns;

Peter Black; David Rhys Lloyd; Janet Davies

to the South West Wales Regional Committee.

To propose that the Assembly, acting under section 61(5)(b) of the Government of Wales Act 1998 elects the following Assembly electoral region Members: Janet Davies; David Melding;

Jonathan Morgan; Pauline Jarman; Owen Jon Thomas; William Graham; Mike German; Jocelyn Davies; Phil Williams; Alun Cairns; Peter Black; David Rhys Lloyd

to the South East Wales Regional Committee.

Motions proposed by the Business Secretary

Motions carried

2.18pm

Questions to Rosemary Butler, Secretary for Education for under 16's

The first 6 questions were reached.

John Griffiths withdrew question 4.

2.39pm

Questions to Christine Gwyther, Secretary for Agriculture & Rural Development)

The first 5 questions were reached

3.00pm

Statement: Jane Hutt, Health and Social Services Secretary, made a statement on the E-Coli outbreak in North Wales

3. 20pm

Debate on the Role of Regional Committees

That the Assembly debates the role and procedure of regional committees.

In order to assist the Assembly in their consideration of the matter during such a debate a paper entitled "Regional Committees: Role and Procedure" is being laid in the Table Office on Monday 21 June

The Business Secretary proposed the Motion

Motion carried

The session concluded at 16.11pm

The Assembly will sit again in Plenary at

2.00 pm on Tuesday 29th June 1999

J W Lloyd

Clerk to the Welsh Assembly