

## ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSPORT COMMITTEE AND



## WELSH AFFAIRS SELECT COMMITTEE

## Joint Statement on the draft Transport (Wales) Bill

Today the Welsh Affairs Committee and the Economic Development and Transport Committee publish their Reports on the draft Transport (Wales) Bill. The Committees worked together on the scrutiny of the draft Bill and the two Reports come to similar conclusions. This joint working represents an innovative and progressive approach to the scrutiny of draft legislation that affects Wales.

The Committees welcome the proposals set out in the draft Bill which would enable the National Assembly for Wales to deliver an integrated transport policy for Wales.

The Committees recognise that local authorities will have an important role to play in a Wales Transport Strategy. Therefore the Committees recommend that the draft Bill:

- Places a statutory duty on the National Assembly to consult local authorities in the preparation of the Wales Transport Strategy; and
- Provides local authorities with an explicit power to appoint members of regional joint transport authorities in Wales.

The Committees also recommend several amendments to give the National Assembly:

- Powers to exert a greater influence over intercity rail services in Wales;
- Powers to appoint members of the Strategic Rail Authority;
- Powers to establish a Public Transport Passengers' Committee for Wales; and
- Wider powers over the provision of bus services in Wales.

## Both Committees also support:

- The relocation of the Traffic Commissioner for Wales to Wales:
- The establishment of an office of the Strategic Rail Authority in Wales; and
- A clear statement of the future relationship between the National Assembly and Network Rail.

Copies of the Economic Development and Transport Committee's Report can be obtained from Paul Davies, Committee Service, National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff Bay, Cardiff, CF99 1NA. Tel: 029 2089 8429. The report is available electronically on the Committee's web site at: <a href="http://www.wales.gov.uk/keypubassemecondevtran/content/tb-e.htm">http://www.wales.gov.uk/keypubassemecondevtran/content/tb-e.htm</a>

Copies of the Welsh Affairs Committee's Report can be obtained from the Vote Office, House of Commons, the Parliamentary Bookshop, Parliament Street and The Stationery Office, Cardiff (tel 02920 395548 or 0345 585463) or refer to the Committee=s home page at <a href="http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary\_committees/welsh\_affairs\_committee.cfm">http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary\_committees/welsh\_affairs\_committee.cfm</a>

Membership of the Economic Development and Transport Committee: Chris Gwyther AM (Chair), Alun Cairns AM, Chris Chapman AM, Andrew Davies AM, Janet Davies AM, Lisa Francis AM, Brian Gibbons AM, Elin Jones AM, Lynne Neagle AM, Jenny Randerson AM.

**Membership of the Welsh Affairs Committee:** Mr Martyn Jones MP (Chairman), Mr Martin Caton MP, Mr Huw Edwards MP, Dr Hywel Francis MP, Ms Julie Morgan MP, Mr Albert Owen MP, Hywel Williams MP, Mr Mark Prisk MP, Mr Nigel Evans MP, Mrs Betty Williams MP and Mr Roger Williams MP.