### **BUSINESS PAPERS**

## Part 1- Section E

# WRITTEN STATEMENTS OF OPINION TABLED ON 25 June 1999

### R Signifies the Member has declared an interest.

## **OPIN-1999-0009 Blaenavon Town and Industrial Landscape**

Raised on 17 Jun 1999 by Lynne Neagle - Torfaen

19 Subscribers:

Janet Davies - South Wales West Jocelyn Davies - South Wales East Richard Edwards - Preseli Pembrokeshire Rhodri Glyn Thomas - Carmarthen East and Dinefwr Glyn Davies -Mid and West Wales Val Feld - Swansea East Nicholas Bourne LLB LLM - Mid and West Wales Michael German OBE South Wales East Karen Sinclair -Clwyd South Janice Gregory - Ogmore Jenny Randerson- Cardiff Central Peter Black - South Wales West Phil Williams - South Wales East Dai Lloyd MBBCh MRCGP Dip. Ther - South Wales West Lorraine Barrett - Cardiff South and Penarth Alun Pugh - Clwyd West Huw Lewis - Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney Carwyn Jones LLB - Bridgend Helen Mary Jones - Llanelli

The National Assembly strongly endorses the nomination of Blaenavon Town and Industrial Landscape for inscription on the UNESCO list of World Heritage sites. The Assembly considers it significant that Blaenavon should go forward as the British nomination in this year of the creation of the Assembly, and believes that it is representative of the seminal contribution of the people of Wales to the Industrial Revolution and the process of world development. The National Assembly resolves to give full support to the nomination on behalf of the people of Wales, and requests that the First Secretary conveys this message to UNESCO.

# **OPIN-1999-0010 Higher Education Fees - Establishment of a Committee of Inquiry**

Raised on 21 Jun 1999 by:

Jonathan Morgan - South Wales Central Jocelyn Davies - South Wales East Christine Humphreys - North Wales Sue Essex - Cardiff North [R].

16 Subscribers:

Michael German OBE- South Wales East Rhodri Glyn Thomas - Carmarthen East and Dinefwr David Melding - South Wales Central Peter Rogers - North Wales William Graham - South Wales East Mick Bates - Montgomeryshire Glyn Davies - Mid and West Wales Alun Cairns - South Wales West Gareth Jones - Conwy Nicholas Bourne LLB LLM - Mid and West Wales [R] Dai Lloyd MBBCh MRCGP Dip. Ther - South Wales West Peter Black - - South Wales West Jenny Randerson - Cardiff Central [R] Karen Sinclair - Clwyd South Kirsty Williams - Brecon and Radnorshire Pauline Jarman - South Wales Central

The National Assembly declares its support for the establishment of a Committee of Inquiry into the consequences of the imposition of tuition fees on higher education students in Wales. This Committee should be modelled on the Committee of Inquiry that is being set up, by the First Minister of Scotland, Donald Dewar. The Committee should report within six months, and its membership should consist of independent academics, lay people and student representatives.