THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY FOR WALES AUDIT COMMITTEE

The Auditor General for Wales

- 1. Jeremy Gye Colman was appointed Auditor General for Wales from 1 April 2005 until 31 March 2010. Future appointments are covered by Paragraph 1 of schedule 8 to the Government of Wales Act 2006 which requires the Auditor General to be appointed by Her Majesty on the nomination of the Assembly.
- 2. The current appointment was made prior to the establishment of the third National Assembly for Wales. Since then, reviews elsewhere in the UK have suggested that to be most effective, an Auditor General's appointment should be for a period longer than five years. With the last year of the current Auditor General's appointment approaching, the Audit Committee has considered the length of the term of office for an Auditor General for Wales.
- 3. The Audit Committee discussed these issues, at its meeting on 27 November 2008. It agreed that it was appropriate, at present, for the Auditor General for Wales to hold a term of office of eight years and that he should not be eligible for a second term. The Committee also agreed that, in the circumstances, it was appropriate to consider extending the appointment of the current AGW for a further 3 years.
- 4. The Government out of Wales Act requires that before making such a nomination, the Assembly must be satisfied that reasonable consultation has been undertaken with such bodies as appear to the Assembly to represent the interests of local government in Wales. The Audit Committee therefore consulted the Welsh Local Government Association which confirmed it had no objection to the appointment being extended.

Recommendation

5. The Audit Committee recommends that the National Assembly for Wales acting under paragraph 1(1) of Schedule 8 to the Government of Wales Act 2006, nominates Jeremy Gye Colman, whose current term of office as Auditor General for Wales expires on the 31st March 2010, for further appointment by Her Majesty to that office for a term expiring on the 31st March 2013.

Jonathan Morgan AM Chair, Audit Committee