

National Assembly for **Wales**

Welsh Members of the European Parliament

Updated: May 2011

Introduction:

The European Parliament¹ is the only directly-elected body of the European Union (EU). Its 736 members (MEPs) are elected once every five years by voters across the 27 Member States of the EU.

The most recent elections took place in June 2009, and the current MEPs will serve a term of office until May 2014.

The UK has a total of 72 MEPs (the same number as France and Italy). Four of these are elected to represent Wales, and the current Welsh MEPs are:

- John Bufton, UK Independence Party and Europe of freedom and democracy Group
- Jill Evans, Plaid Cymru and Greens/European Free Alliance Group
- Dr Kay Swinburne MEP, Welsh Conservatives and European Conservatives and Reformists Group
- Derek Vaughan MEP, Welsh Labour and Group for Progressive Alliance of Socialists & Democrats

The work of the Welsh MEPs is primarily split across three locations:

Strasbourg, the official home of the European Parliament. 12 sittings of the EP are held in Strasbourg each year, which equates to around one week of business per month..

¹ For a more detailed overview see **European Parliament web-site**

- Brussels, the second home of the European Parliament, where most of the Committee meetings take place, together with a number of "mini-plenary" sessions held during the year
- Wales, which for all four Welsh MEPs constitutes their constituency.

As well as being members of one of the seven political groups in the European Parliament, each of the Welsh MEPs sits on one or more of the 20 permanent Committees, which undertake the day to day legislative and policy scrutiny work of the European Parliament. They may also be selected by their political groups to sit on the special or "temporary" Committees that are established in response to issues of particular political significance for the EU, e.g. the financial crisis or to prepare for the discussions on the future multi-annual EU budget.

Finally, the Welsh MEPs may engage in various formal and informal working groups in the European Parliament, and external representative work.

The following section gives a brief resume of the Committees, working groups and other external activities that the four Welsh MEPs are involved in.

Welsh MEPs: Committees and other work²

John Bufton, UK Independence Party and Europe of freedom and democracy

Committees:

- Regional Development Committee (member)
- Agriculture and Rural Development Committee (substitute)

²See **European Parliament web-site**. See also Welsh MEP websites: **John Bufton, Jill Evans, Dr Kay Swinburne** and **Derek Vaughan**



National Assembly for **Wales**

Jill Evans, Plaid Cymru and Greens/European Free Alliance

Committees:

- Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee (member)
- Agriculture and Rural Development Committee (substitute)
- Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality

Delegations:

- Delegation for relations with the Palestinian Legislative Council
- Delegation for relations with Iraq (member)

Reports and opinions:

 Revision of the EU Directive on the Restriction of Hazardous Substances. Report adopted June 2010.
Click here for details.

Other:

- Vice-Chair of the Greens/European Free Alliance
- President of the European Free Alliance

Dr Kay Swinburne MEP, Welsh Conservatives and European Conservatives and Reformists

Committees:

- Economic and Monetary Affairs (member and Group Co-ordinator)
- Special Committee on the Financial, Economic and Social Crisis (member)

Delegations:

- Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean (member)
- Delegation for relations with Switzerland and Norway and to the EU-Iceland Joint Parliamentary Committee and the European Economic Area

(EEA) Joint Parliamentary Committee (substitute)

 Delegation for relations with the Palestinian Legislative Council (substitute)

Reports and opinions:

 Report on regulation of trading in financial instruments. Report adopted on 10 November 2010. Click here for details.

Derek Vaughan MEP, Welsh Labour and Progressive Alliance of Socialists & Democrats

Committees:

- Budget Committee (member)
- Budgetary Control Committee (substitute)
- Special committee on the policy challenges and budgetary resources for a sustainable European Union after 2013 (SURE Committee) (substitute)

Delegations:

- Delegation for relations with the People's Republic of China (member)
- Delegation for relations with Japan (substitute)

Reports and opinions:

Opinion on the European Commission's 5th Cohesion Report and the Strategy for the post-2013 Cohesion Policy. Opinion adopted on 12 April 2011. Click **here** for details.

Further information

For further information on the Welsh MEPs or any other EU related matter please contact

Gregg Jones (Gregg.Jones@wales.gov.uk)

National Assembly for Wales EU Office Wales House 6th floor, 11 Rond Point Schuman

Brussels B-1040

Belgium