The Senedd in Cardiff Bay

The Senedd in Cardiff Bay

Holding the Welsh Government to Account: Senedd Committee Chairs elected

Published 29/06/2021   |   Last Updated 06/08/2021   |   Reading Time minutes

Members of the Senedd have today elected the Chairs to lead the new Committees for the next parliamentary term. 

On behalf of the people of Wales, Senedd Committees carry out many functions, including scrutinising the expenditure and policies of the Welsh Government, holding Ministers to account, and examining proposed new laws. 

Chairs Elected Today

Jane Bryant MS (Welsh Labour, Newport West)
Children, Young People and Education Committee

Russell George MS (Welsh Conservatives, Montgomeryshire)
Health and Social Care Committee  

Paul Davies MS (Welsh Conservatives,Preseli Pembrokeshire)
Economy, Trade and Rural Affairs Committee 

Llyr Gruffydd MS (Plaid Cymru, North Wales)
Climate Change, Environment and Infrastructure Committee  

Jenny Rathbone MS (Welsh Labour, Cardiff Central)
Equality and Social Justice Committee 

Delyth Jewell MS (Plaid Cymru, South Wales East)
Culture, Communications, Welsh Language, Sport, and International Relations Committee 

John Griffiths MS (Welsh Labour, Newport East)
Local Government and Housing Committee 

Peredur Owen Griffiths MS (Plaid Cymru, South Wales East)
Finance Committee  

Mark Isherwood MS (Welsh Conservatives, North Wales)
Public Accounts and Public Administration Committee  

Huw Irranca-Davies MS (Welsh Labour,Ogmore)
Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee  

Vikki Howells MS (Welsh Labour, Cynon Valley)
Standards of Conduct Committee  

Jack Sargeant MS (Welsh Labour, Alyn and Deeside)
Petitions Committee  

Policy and legislation committees have six Members, specialist committees have four and the Public Accounts and Public Administration Committee has five. 

The full membership of the Committees will be elected by Members of the Senedd next week.