Committees in the Senedd carry out many functions, including scrutinising the expenditure and policies of the Welsh Government, holding Ministers to account, and examining proposed legislation.

Current Committees

Other Committees

The Chairs’ Forum is an informal committee of committee Chairs, chaired by the Llywydd. The Chairs’ Forum enables Senedd committees to maximise their efficiency and effectiveness, through coordination, collective leadership, and information exchange. 

Former Committees

In this section

Committees are one of the key mechanisms that enable the Senedd to fulfil its statutory and constitutional functions.

At the Senedd, a committee is made up of a number of Members of the Senedd from different party groups who are appointed, by the Senedd in Plenary, to work together to undertake detailed work and carry out specific functions. The Senedd also decides who will be the chair of each committee. Members of a Senedd committee, or sub-committee, may not include anyone who is not a Member of the Senedd.

Between them, the Senedd committees examine the areas of law that the Welsh Government is responsible for. These subjects are the areas of Welsh life that have been devolved to the Senedd from the UK Parliament in London.