Reform Bill Committee

About the Committee

Established on 12 July 2023, the Reform Bill Committee comprises four members from different political groups represented in the Senedd. The chair of the Committee is David Rees MS.

In accordance with Standing Order 17.49, the Chair has agreed that Jane Dodds MS (Welsh Liberal Democrats) may participate in Committee meetings and related activities, although she cannot cast votes.


The Committee’s role is to consider Bills referred to it by the Senedd’s Business Committee.

It is currently considering the general principles of the Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill, which was formally introduced to the Welsh Parliament on 11 March 2024.

The first Bill it considered was the Senedd Cymru (Members and Elections) Bill, which was formally introduced to the Welsh Parliament on 18 September 2023 as part of Senedd Reform. The Committee published its report on 19 January 2024.

For additional details about the Committee, its members, and the progress of its work please refer to this page.


Progress of Senedd Bills




The Committee was established on 12 July 2023 to scrutinise Bills referred to it by the Business Committee.

The Committee will be dissolved either:

i) when all Bills referred to the Committee have received Royal Assent and the Business Committee has decided that no further Bills will be referred to the Committee; or

ii) when the Senedd so resolves;

whichever is the sooner.

Committee Members