New Wales Audit Office Chair confirmed

Published 16/09/2020   |   Last Updated 16/09/2020

​The new Chair of the Wales Audit Office has been confirmed as Lindsay Foyster. 

The appointment was approved and confirmed by the Senedd on 16 September, on the recommendation of the Finance Committee. See the Committee Report in full here

Her term will begin on 17 October 2020, and she will serve until 15 March 2023. 

Lindsay worked previously for 30 years in the mental health third sector in Wales, including more than 19 years experience at board and corporate level as the Director of Mind Cymru. She has also had board experience with a number of other third sector organisations. Her particular areas of interest are good governance, equalities and diversity and community engagement. Lindsay has served as a Non-Executive Member of the Wales Audit Office Board since 2015.

Lindsay Foyster was recommended for the position of Chair by the Finance Committee after a thorough and transparent recruitment process. Information about the process is published in the Committee’s report which is available online. 

Finance Committee Chair, Llyr Gruffydd MS says: “We congratulate and welcome Lindsay Foyster to her new role of Wales Audit Office Chair. Her contribution as an engaged and productive Non-Executive Member has been invaluable and we are in no doubt that she will carry this enthusiasm and energy forward into her new role. 

“On behalf of the Committee I’d also like to thank the current Chair Isobel Everett for her leadership and unwavering commitment over two terms in the role, and I extend our gratitude for her diligent service.” 

Incoming Wales Audit Office Chair, Lindsay Foyster, said: “I’m very proud of becoming the new Wales Audit Office Chair and look forward to getting started. I recognise this is a critical time in light of current events and I’m fully committed to my role in delivering what’s needed for the Welsh public sector.” 

Auditor General, Adrian Crompton said: “I’d like to thank Isobel Everett for her hard work and dedication during her time with us as we bid her farewell as Chair. Isobel has been a strong, committed and dynamic leader who has provided great support to me personally and direction to the organisation. 

“I’m looking forward to working closely with Lindsay in achieving our ambitions as an organisation at this hugely challenging time for the public sector.” 

The Finance Committee has also appointed two new Non-executive Members of the Wales Audit Office – Elinor Gwynn and Ian Rees - and the reappointment of Alison Gerrard to serve a second term in the role.