Members of the Senedd elect Llywydd and First Minister

Published 12/05/2021   |   Last Updated 12/05/2021   |   Reading Time minutes

At the first meeting of the sixth Senedd, on Wednesday 12 May 2021, Members have elected Elin Jones MS as the Llywydd (Presiding Officer), David Rees MS as the Deputy Presiding Officer and nominated Mark Drakeford MS as First Minister.

The meeting was held as a ‘hybrid’ format due to coronavirus social distancing rules. 20 Members were present in the Siambr and 40 joined online from their offices. Members voted in a secret ballot for the Llywydd and Deputy Llywydd. There were no other nominations for the First Minister.

The results of the vote:

Llywydd (Presiding Officer):
- Elin Jones MS: 35
- Russell George MS: 25

Deputy Presiding Officer:
- David Rees MS: 35
- Hefin David MS: 24