National Assembly hosts Conference on Perspectives on Youth Participation

Published 24/11/2008   |   Last Updated 14/07/2014

National Assembly hosts Conference on Perspectives on Youth Participation

The National Assembly for Wales has organised and is hosting a conference: Perspectives on Youth Participation (EDS: THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 27), aimed at developing useful and workable links across a number of UK organisations, all of which have a common interest in encouraging young people to engage in the democratic process.

The conference will be held in Siambr Hywel (the National Assembly for Wales’ Youth Debating Chamber) in Ty Hywel, Cardiff Bay.  

A number of keynote speakers will be participating, including Alun Owens (Director of the Urdd Youth Camp, Cardiff), Sara Reid (Deputy Children’s Commissioner, Wales), Michael Raftery (Hansard Society’s Director of the Citizenship Education Programme) and John Gower (author and broadcaster).

The conference will revolve around a speech by each keynote speaker, followed by open discussions between delegates. A young people’s panel, akin to a Citizen’s Jury) will be participating in the discussions and will have an opportunity to express their opinions on the proceedings. They will also be able to comment electronically on screens in Siambr Hywel.

Claire Clancy, Chief Executive and Clerk to the Assembly, who will be welcoming delegates to the conference on Thursday, said: “I am delighted that the Assembly is hosting this conference, which represents an articulation of the National Assembly’s strategic goal of promoting and widening engagement in devolution.

“It is heartening that the conference has attracted representatives from the UK Parliament, the Scottish Parliament and the Northern Ireland Assembly. I am confident that this will offer a tremendous opportunity to share ideas, successes and discuss the challenges that face us.”


1. If you would like to cover this event, please contact Iwan Williams on 029 2089 8039 or

2. Keynote speakers include:

Alun Owens (Head of Cardiff Urdd site)

Sara Reid (Deputy Children’s Commissioner Wales) –

Michael Raftery (Hansard Society )

Jon Gower (Author and broadcaster)

3. Delegates include

Bethan Jenkins AM

Mari Wyn Gooberman (Head of Education Service, National Assembly for Wales)

Sian Davies (Mencap)

Enfys Williams (Wales YFC)

Martin Pollard (CEWC)

Lorraine Barrett AM

Tom O’Leary (Education Manager UK Parliament)

Ion Thomas (Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw)

Peter Black AM

Karen Roberts (Media literacy network/OFCOM)

Karl Straw (National Assembly for Wales)

Tim Ruscoe (Participation Development Officer, Berdados) -

Rosemary Everett (Head of Visitor and Outreach services Scotland)

Iwan Williams (National Assembly for Wales)

Eleri Wyn Williams (BBC, Head of Education)

Andy Klom (EU Commission Wales)

Eleri Thomas (Save the Children)

Rachel Price (Funky Dragon)

Alan Turkie (UK Youth Parliament)

Llinos Evans (Wales YFC Centre)

Joseff Llewellyn (Save the Children)

Mererid Lewis (Save the Children)

Rebecca Horder (Save the Children)

Sian Pitman (Tros Gynnal Advocacy & Participation Service)

Laurence Howells (Tros Gynnal Advocacy & Participation Service)

George Jones (Tros Gynnal Advocacy & Participation Service)

Jo Sims (Children’s Commisionner for Wales)

Chris Llewelyn (WLGA)

Marina McConville (Northern Ireland Assembly)

Claire Cowan (Education Outreach Manager UK)

Sara Pickard (Mencap)

Clair McDonough (Isle of Man Parliament)

Kath Jenkins (National Assembly for Wales)

Buddug  Saer (National Assembly for Wales)

Elise Stewart (Canllaw Online)

Owain Llyr ap Gareth (Electoral Reform Society)

Annabelle Harle (Electoral Reform Society)