Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

We are the Welsh Parliament



Have you ever wondered what the difference is between the Welsh Parliament and the Welsh Government?​


Commonly known as the Senedd, the Welsh Parliament is the democratically elected body that represents the interests of Wales and its people, makes laws for Wales, agrees Welsh taxes and holds the Welsh Government to account.

The Llywydd is the highest authority in the Senedd and chairs Plenary, the meeting of all 60 Members, remaining politically impartial at all times. The current Llywydd is Elin Jones AM​.


The Welsh Government is the devolved government for Wales.​ It is formed after an election and is made up from a single or a coalition of the political parties represented in the Assembly. It delivers policies and proposes laws on devolved subjects such as health, education, public services and the environment.

The First Minister of Wales is the leader of the Welsh Government and is appointed by HM the Queen following nomination by Assembly Members. The current First Minister is Mark Drakeford AM.


Shaping life in Wales

Our Members discuss, debate and make laws that shape life in Wales. We have powers to change a number of areas of Welsh life including education, health and the environment.​​ Find out more.​​

Children at the Assembly stand at the Urdd
Welsh Youth Parliament​
Young people in Wales now have a platform for their voice to be heard with the election of the first Welsh Youth Parliament Members.


Partners & Help