The Commissioners and their role

Published 17/08/2020   |   Last Updated 13/10/2020   |   Reading Time minutes

The Senedd is required by law to appoint Commissioners who are responsible for providing the Senedd with the staff and resources they need to carry out their roles effectively for the people of Wales. The Commission is chaired by the Llywydd, and is made up of four Members who have been elected by the Senedd. Each member of the Commission holds a specific portfolio of responsibilities for the Fifth Senedd.


Portfolio Commissioner
Commission Chair
Communications and engagement

Committee Chair: Elin Jones MS


Plaid Cymru Party | Plaid Cymru Group

Budget and governance, including Audit and Risk Assurance Committee membership.

Suzy Davies MS

Welsh Conservative Party | Welsh Conservative Group

Equalities, and the Commission as the employer of Senedd staff.

Joyce Watson MS

Welsh Labour Party | Welsh Labour Group

​Official languages, and delivery and transformation of services to Members.

Rhun ap Iorwerth MS

Plaid Cymru | Plaid Cymru Group

Security and Senedd resources.

David J Rowlands MS

Brexit Party | Brexit Party Group